Top Ten Films of 2009

Here’s a preliminary look at my 2009 top ten list. There’s still a lot I haven’t had the chance to see yet, so it will inevitably change.

Dogtooth (Giorgos Lanthimos)

Lourdes (Jessica Hausner)

Letter to Uncle Boonmee/Phantoms of Nabua (Apitchatpong Weerasethakul)

Vincere (Marco Bellochio)

Mother (Bong Joon Ho)

Paranormal Activity (Oren Peli)

Inglorious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)

The Hurt Locker (Kathryn Bigelow)

Bruno (Larry Charles)

Up (Peter Docter)

Honorable Mention: Face (Tsai Ming Liang), Antichrist (Lars Von Trier), Drag Me to Hell (Sam Raimi), Tales from the Golden Age (Cristian Mungiu), A Prophet (Jacques Audiard)

Tags:

2 Responses to “Top Ten Films of 2009”

  1. marc Says:

    Nice list, I’ve only seen six of those, but the only disagreement would be with BRUNO, which I liked but didn’t hold up well to a second viewing. I’m guessing it will be hard to catch up with LOURDES and VINCERE now. I don’t have much desire to see UP, seems I’m the only one in the world not big on Pixar. I also have INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS as the best American film of the year.

  2. My Yearly Oscar Angst « YOU’LL NEVER BE HUNGRY AGAIN Says:

    […] Basterds,” “The Hurt Locker,” and “Up” were all on my top 10 list of 2009, and I suppose “Avatar” should be recognized in some way (even though I didn’t […]

Leave a Reply

