My Yearly Oscar Angst

Is it just me, or do the Oscars feel completely irrelevent this year? OK, so I haven’t seen a large portion of the nominees, and will concede that I’m more or less talking out of my ass, but the reason I haven’t seen films like “The Blind Side,” “Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire” or “Invictus” isn’t because they haven’t yet been released in South Korea. I simply don’t care to. By upping the number of “Best Picture” nominess, the idea was to include a broader range of movies, but it seems to me that the Academy has just put its sought-after spotlight on more of the same drivel. Not that there aren’t any good films vying for the top prizes; “Inglourious Basterds,” “The Hurt Locker,” and “Up” were all on my top 10 list of 2009, and I suppose “Avatar” has to be rewarded, though it wasn’t much more than a dazzling display of 3-D images. What’s a shame is that even these better crafted, more compelling contenders fall in line with an awards ceremony that allows no exceptions to its rigid rules.

Last year, I took the time to actually make predictions; this year, I don’t see the point. I wasn’t going to write about the Oscars at all, but I simply couldn’t abstain from my yearly ritual of ripping this disgustingly indulgent gathering where all of Hollywood  gets together and pats itself on the back.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “My Yearly Oscar Angst”

  1. Ingeborg Minecci Says:

    And a nomination lasts forever, whether a movie is in theaters or being offered on Netflix, so the full story of the benefits of the expanded category hasn’t been told yet. Studios make billions of dollars on DVD and Blu-ray disc sales, not to mention what they collect from pay TV outlets at home and abroad.

  2. Pearlie Jackosn Says:

    Fox Searchlight followed the same pattern for “Slumdog Millionaire” last year, Gilula said. “Slumdog” cleaned up at the Oscars and the box office, making $81 million of its $125 million in ticket sales between the nominations and the week before the ceremony.

  3. Robert E Kelly Says:

    I agree that the Oscars seem pretty pointless this year, mostly because the film selection is so poor. Hurt Locker is good, but not great. Lots of war films are superior; it is enjoying hype only because its competitors are so weak. Avatar and District 9 are also only in the list because the field is so weak.

    Quick Prediction: Avatar will win for sheer audacity of effects.

Leave a Reply

